Cherokee Auto Parts

Started by richbeau, July 23, 2019, 04:28:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

richbeau

I've been hanging around here for awhile (~2-1/2 years) without making many posts and just generally being a pest. I'm guessing I should contribute something. I'm a bit slow with all the things going on here at home. We're trying to sell the old homestead and downsize. So bear with my slowness. In any case here it goes...

Walker Evans photo - 1936, Atlanta, Georgia
Look familiar?

I always fancied scratch-building it but never got around to it when Frank Bernard (fbernard65) pointed me to this...

It's an HO-scale resin kit designed by Thom Yorke and produced by Dennis Brandt (Branline Train Sales, Norfolk, Nebraska). If you click on the photo it will take you to the website. I don't have any affiliation though Frank did the signage.

I'm doing something a bit different... It's 18 years later (1954). It should still look pretty much the same as the original though the paint is a bit worn and not as much clutter. Well maybe it's just a different kind of messy. I'm thinking a little diorama (about 8"-10" square) - add sidewalks, a street, junk out back, some vehicles (probably my first ever Sylvan kit or three), etc

The kit arrived in the mail about a week ago. Give me a bit to clean up the pieces.

--Rich

PaulS

Hey there Rich, hope all is well with you ...
Looks like an interesting project there and looking forward to your interpretation from the 1950's ...

And good luck with your pending move and downsizing.   We recently went through a new build and move as well into what is planned to be our 'last' home ....
All the best,
--Paul (newly of Marshfield, MA)
Modeling the Atlantic & White Mtn Railway

fbernard65

Rich,

Looking forward to your progress.

Frank

postalkarl

Hey Rich:

I'm here with Frank on this one.

Karl

richbeau

Yo PaulS long time... We should try to get together and swap tales.

fbernard65 You're to blame  ;)